Sat firmly atop of Mt. Adelaide are two gun pits constructed during 1892 as part of the Princess Royal Fortress. The gun pits were constructed to take a 6" BL (A2) gun which stood on a concrete pad or 'cheese'. In 1938 the decision to replace the guns with 6" QFC guns meant the gun pits had to be modified by blasting away the cheeses. In 1945 these guns were replaced with two Mk VII guns from the 6 inch Leighton Battery.
Today the guns remain in place and have been lovingly restored. Visitors are free to experience the guns up close.